The Four Seasons of Marriage by Gary Chapman

By David & Angie Benjamin, Contributing Writers


Quite recently I started reading this book. And today I would like to recommend it to you, because so far …so good!

Another great title from Dr. Chapman. I just love how he presents the Biblical Principles for marriage. He presents them in such a clear and practical way.
This work is no exception.

First things first, what immediately springs to your mind when you read the title of Dr’s Chapman book? “The Four Seasons of Marriage”, perhaps like me you think “well, like anything in life, there are seasons…time to live and time to die.”

Spring must be the stage in marriage where everything blossoms. The stage of infatuation, everything is so perfect. So new and exciting!

Then comes Summer. Perhaps children growing up and some stability comes.
Fall comes and leaves start falling. Children leave home and you can enjoy. Rest.

Winter, well, not a lot left. Just cold. Alone?

Well many people and other authors have classified marriage something like that. But amazingly Dr Chapman tells us that we can actually experience the seasons in our marriage year after year, or perhaps all the seasons in one day (just like the weather here in England!!).

Dr. Chapman writes:

“Sometimes we find ourselves in winter- discouraged, detached, and dissatisfied; other times we experience springtime, with its openness, hope and anticipation. On still other occasions we bask in the warmth of summer- comfortable, relaxed, enjoying life. And then comes fall with its uncertainty, negligence, and apprehension. The cycle repeats itself many times throughout the life of marriage, just as the seasons repeat themselves in nature”

Really looking forward to reading the rest of the book and I will come back to share the practical aspect of it. What we learned and how it helped our marriage!

Until next time!